Am I Like Michal?

Our Pastor said something in his sermon last Sunday that really made me think… Michal, King Saul’s daughter, was so accustomed to living in the King’s house that its luxuries were common place to her. She was unlike David. The man after God’s own heart,   understood that it was the Lord that brought him to his position as King. Michal had always known life from the perspective of the king’s house. David celebrated the presence of God. Nothing could diminish the magnitude of God’s greatness nor David’s love for the Lord. Our pastor asked the congregation if some of us were like Michal, so accustomed to being in God’s house, that we don’t get excited about the presence of God.

This thought and looming question stayed with me for a few days. I wanted to honestly consider whether or not I had a heart similar to David or that of Michal. I know  God has blessed me immensely in regards to my family, home, job, and every other area of life. Like David, I know that I would be nowhere near my current position in life had it not been for the work God has done in and through my life. However, I know there are times I am more like Michal- times I struggle to see the presence of God in my life.

1 Thessalonians 5:18 tells us to give thanks in all circumstances. Have you ever actually had to apply that concept? And I don’t mean when life is going well. I mean when you have had the last straw with the ongoing  family issue or feel like you’ve been the statue more times than the pigeon at work. Or, maybe it’s when you’re watching God fulfill the promises He made to those around you but your time just never seems to arrive.

I would be lying if I said I have come to a place in my life where I initially always find something to be grateful about. There are moments when the attitude of my prayer is similar to a child who hasn’t gotten their way. Sometimes I am jealous of other’s success. Sometimes I don’t even want to talk to God because I am just that irritated with the current state of my life. I hope, however, that at no point in my life, I get to the place where I can’t praise the Lord. I pray that He continues to give me subtle reminders of the goodness He’s shown me especially when it is most difficult to remember.

God is worthy of praise regardless of our current situation. No matter how difficult our circumstances are, I encourage you to take a good hard look at where and what God has brought you out of. Even though things look rough where you are, He still deserves the praise for what He has already done. You and I are truly blessed, so keep your head up. I know, that when in the presence of God, you and I have enough reasons to find as much joy as David did.

Leave a Reply

